APWA – Washington Report – January 7, 2019

January 7, 2019 Share:
To stay informed about happenings on Capitol Hill please be sure to follow APWA Government Affairs on Twitter @APWAGOVAFFAIRS and check Advocacy News on http://www.apwa.net.

FY2019 Appropriations Update
• Federal government agencies who have not yet received fiscal year (FY) 2019 appropriations funding have had all non-essential operations shutdown;
• These agencies had been operating on a continuing resolution (CR) which expired on December 21, 2018, at midnight;
• To date, 75% of federal government agencies’ funding for FY 2019 was approved prior to the midterm election held on November 6, 2018;
• Agencies impacted by the partial government shutdown include the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the Departments of Homeland Security, Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, the Interior, Commerce, and Justice;
• Disagreement over funding for border protection, specifically funding to build a wall/barrier on the U.S. Southern Border remains the sticking point in negotiations;
• The 116th Congress was sworn into office on January 3, 2019, and the Democrats are now the majority in the U.S. House of Representatives, while Republicans retain control of the U.S. Senate;
• Both President Trump and the Democrats appear to be digging in their heels with no foreseeable resolution to end the shutdown on the near horizon;
• Last week, the House of Representatives passed a bill to reopen the federal government by a vote of 241-190;
• However, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) has said that he will not bring any bills for a vote in the Senate which President Trump will not sign;
• President Trump has stated that the shutdown may last months or longer;
• APWA will continue to work with Administration and Congressional staff to ensure that public works interests are represented in all negotiations.
President to Issue EO Regarding Wildfire Prevention
• President Trump plans to issue Executive Order (EO) 13855 today, directing the Department of Interior to expedite removal of vegetation which can lead to wildfires;
• To view the EO, please click here.
U.S. DOT Releases Funding for INFRA Grants
• On December 21, 2018 the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) released a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the second round of the Infrastructure for Rebuilding America (INFRA) discretionary grant program;
• Subject to FY 2019 appropriations, DOT is expecting to make available between $855-902.5 million for projects aligned with the Administration’s principles “to rebuild America’s crumbling infrastructure”;
• Funding awarded to large projects will require the INFRA grant be at least $25 million, and for small projects the INFRA grant must be at least $5 million;
• Ten percent of available INFRA grant funds each fiscal year will be reserved for small projects and at least 25% of INFRA grants are required to be reserved for rural projects;
• Click here for additional information about the program and application process;
• At this time, the Federal Register states that the “APPLY” function will open today, January 7, and that applications are due by March 4;
• However, due to the federal government shutdown the Federal Register is not currently being updated.
Named Congressional Committee Chairs &
Ranking Members
• Please find below, the currently known Chairs and Ranking Members in the House and Senate, of committees which APWA works with on legislation impacting the public works industry
• Senate Committee on Appropriations: Chair Richard Shelby (R-AL), Ranking Member Patrick Leahy (D-VT);
• Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs: Chair Ron Johnson (R-WI), Ranking Member Gary Peters (D-MI);
• Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works: Chair John Barrasso (R-WY), Ranking Member Tom Carper (D-DE);
• Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation: Chair Roger Wicker (R-MS), Ranking Member Maria Cantwell (D-WA);
• Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources: Chair Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ranking Member Joe Manchin (D-WV);
• Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs: Chair Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ranking Member Sherrod Brown (D-OH);
• Senate Small Business and Entrepreneurship Chair: Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ranking Member Ben Cardin (D-MD);
• House Committee on Appropriations Chair: Nita Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member Kay Granger (R-TX);
• House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure: Chair Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Ranking Member Sam Graves (R-MO);
• House Committee on Homeland Security: Chair Bennie Thompson (D-MS), Ranking Member Mike Rogers (R-AL);
• House Committee on Financial Services: Chair Maxine Waters (D-CA), Ranking Member Patrick McHenry (R-NC).

Published by Peter Cavalli, MPA

Local government, public works and training professional - Tampa Bay Training, LLC